mytravelsdownunder

Just another WordPress.com site

Chef makes joke about domestic violence, hilarity does not ensue

Clutch

Oh, dear. Another day, another example of people trying to make light of inappropriate issues.

On Friday, Belvedere Vodka came under fire for its ad joking about sexual assault, and today, The Root reported a story about Chops & Hops, a Georgia restaurant, that said it’s “black and bleu” sandwich was inspired by Chris Brown and Rihanna’s 2009 assault.

From the Chops & Hops Facebook page:

Well we were going to do @TimTebow today but decided to trade for a sure thing this week. Instead @chrisbrown, @rihanna and us teamed up for a award winning celebrity sandwich. Put your hands on this caribbean black and bleu sandwich. Caribbean spiced marinated sliced ribeye blackened then look out for the bleu cheese, sliced tomato, silver Lamborghini onions, and shredded romaine. Chris Brown won’t beat you up for eating this unless your name starts with a R and ends with A.

read more.

Look, I’m not gonna lie, this is pretty fucked up. And I understand the whole public disgust and feminist outcries and all that. Trust me, I do. I honestly think if a guy hits a chick he deserves to have his balls chopped off and forcibly shoved down his throat. And the fact that someone thought this was going to go over well is a bit ridiculous. The fact that multiple heads okayed this marketing strategy is even more ridiculous, and a bit indicative of how incredibly stupid everybody inside that restaurant must be. But that’s not what I’m mad about here. I’m not even that mad about the “Whitney Houston” sandwich being topped with powdered sugar thing. I know people are like, “She was a diva! She was a good lady! She died like two weeks ago!” I understand all of that, but at the same time, she was a fucking coke fiend, so I can’t really say I’m upset he made fun of her. Though I am a little confused as to why the hell you would put powdered sugar on a sandwich, I’m definitely not mad at him for that.

What I’m mad about is how much fucking bleu cheese is on that thing. Jesus christ, someone should tell that chauvinist asshole chef that he forgot to put meat on the sandwich. I’ve been speaking out on chefs doing shit like this for years butt it needs to stop now. Like if I go to Carnegie Deli and order the ‘Melo this is what I get:

What. The. Fuck. Is. That. That’s not so much a sandwich as it is a sick joke. I fucking can’t stand PETA and all of their crazy bullshit, but even I considered going vegetarian after seeing that. Like we get it. There’s alot of meat on it. You stacked approximately 12 pounds of meat two feet high and it’s ironic because Carmelo Anthony is a tall basketball player. Point noted assholes. But don’t pee on my leg and tell me it’s raining because that in no way looks like a goddamn sandwich or anything close to it. It’s time to put an end to this. Sandwich’s should have a very simple composition:
50% meat.
15% lettuce and tomatoes and whatever the fuck else.
10% cheese.
5% condiments and sauces.
20% bread.

And that’s it. Nohing more and nothing less. None of this four thousand percent meat and 2 percent bread shit that Carnegie Deli pulls and none of this “bleu cheese with a dash of meat” bullshit that Richard Miley is attempting to pass across as a sandwich. All of these chefs going shitdick crazy on the composition of sandwiches need to be stopped. Because you can take your fancy chef awards and all the culinary praise you’ll ever receive Mr. Miley, and I’ll still take a sandwich that looks like this:

Seven days a week and twice on Sundays.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

